What’s Not Halal About Italian Food?

by Shamsydar Ani Jul 24, 2017


Kucina 7

“Italian food is all about ingredients and it's not fussy and it's not fancy.” - Wolfgang Puck

Plenty of us dream about having a delicious bowl of handmade pasta topped with an equally tasty  tomato sauce and generous shavings of parmigiano-reggiano cheese in our hands as we overlook a vast and beautiful Italian vineyard. It has always been a dream for me, at least, to spend a month or two immersing myself in the food culture of Italy. While that dream trip has to be put on hold for now, I’ve been educating myself on Italian food and how to nail the perfect bolognese. 

 

Why go through all the trouble, you may ask. You see, Italian food to me is akin to Malay food - I don’t eat it if it’s not homemade. The best rendang to me is still my mother’s and there's no way I can never cheat on my mother’s rendang. I have never set afoot on Italy but Jamie Oliver, Nigella and my sister has set the standard for what Italian food is to me. 

 

So here’s a question I often get from friends who ask me along to dine at non-halal Italian food establishments - “What's not halal about Italian food? It’s just pizza, pasta and a lot of tomato sauce!”

 

Like Wolfgang Puck says, Italian food is really about good quality ingredients with nothing fancy. The holy trinity of Italian food is essentially tomatoes, olive oil and basil. I mean, it all comes from vegetable sources so what can possibly be non-halal about that? 

 

Sit down, hold on tight, because you’re about to get schooled!

 

Components of Italian Food to Consider

 

For the purposes of this article, we can say that most Italian food comprises of four different components - base, sauce, protein and cheese.

 

Pastas and Pizzas

KUCINA_MARGHARITA PIZZA

Italian cuisine is built upon pastas and pizza, and since these two sources of carbohydrates have low risk halal factors, there’s no need for you to worry. However, not all pastas are of low risk halal factors. Filled pastas like raviolis and tortellini sometimes have meat or cheese fillings which may not be permissible for someone with a halal diet. 

 

Sauces

 

Tomato-based sauces like pomodoro, aribiatta and marinara usually are of low risk as they only contain tomatoes, olive oil, and natural seasoning with herbs such as oregano and basil. The only tomato sauce that has a high risk is the bolognese. Apart from the traditional tomato sauce, herbs such as basil, rosemary, garlic and onions are added to complement the deep and rich flavours of the choice of meat. 

 

Traditional bolognese are served with a combination of ground beef and pork, and often use pancetta (an Italian bacon made of cured pork belly meat and spices) to enhance the flavour of the sauce. Occasionally, pancetta is substituted with beef or chicken stock. The risk factor for bolognese is usually high because even if pork is not served as the main protein, traces of pork in the form of pancetta can be found. If non-halal meat were used to make the stock, the bolognese sauce would also be deemed not fit for a halal diet. 

 

Watch us make our version of a bolognaise sauce!

 

White sauces have a higher risk of not being halal as they are made with dairy products such as butter, cream and cheese. Alfredo sauce is made of butter and parmesan while carbonara comprises of eggs, hard cheese (e.g. parmesan) and bacon. It seems harmless to opt for a white sauce with your pasta or pizza but the reality is that these ingredients are of high risk for halal factors which we will discuss in the upcoming sections.

 

Protein

 

One of the most confusing thing about Italian food or any other European cuisine is the multiple names of meat, specifically cured meat which mostly comes in a form of pork. Cured meat is more commonly known as deli meat, and they are usually served with bread, crackers and cheese as a quick meal. Since cured meat are well seasoned and spiced before the curing process, they are also used as flavour enhancers in cooking. 

 

The list of cured pork meat is exhaustive, but Italian food mostly uses pancetta, ham, bacon, salami, pepperoni and chorizo. As a form of precaution, avoid dishes which contain the above mentioned items when you dine at non-verified halal places. These foreign names deserve an article on its own, but do understand that there are halal substitutes for these meat products which originate from swine. Local butcheries such as Zac Meat and The Meat Up sell halal certified turkey bacon, beef pepperoni, chicken salami, chicken ham, and beef chorizo. 

 

Cheese

 

The most popular topping for Italian food is none other than your favourite cheese. While it would be too exhaustive to explain how cheese is made (which means it deserves another post on its own!) you should be aware that hard cheeses like parmesan contain rennet. Rennet is an enzyme obtained from the stomach linings of mammals, traditionally the stomach of slaughtered newly-born calves. 

 

Since rennet is derived from an animal, the animal needs to be slaughtered according to Islamic rites for the cheese to be deemed halal. As much as vegetarian and non-animal rennet are available for cheese production, cheese manufacturers are not legally obliged to indicate the source of rennet for their cheeses. Safe to say, stick to verified halal places for confirmed plus chop halal cheese!

 

Conclusion

 

There’s really too much to explain about what can not be halal with a certain cuisine, but I hope this article has served its purpose of educating you on how Italian food is traditionally made. With that in mind, we’re thankful to authentic Italian restaurants which are verified halal because there’s definitely a lot of thought process put into making sure the Italian dishes stay as authentic as possible!

 

Watch our visit to Kucina Italian and see how Chef Omar makes authentic halal Italian food at this restaurant!

Visit Kucina Italian located at OneKM. For more details, click here

WANT TO SEE MORE OF SUCH ARTICLES? SUPPORT US!

halalfoodhunt.com is a website listing verified Muslim-owned or Halal Certified food businesses. We started out educating halal foodies on how to know if a food is halal or not when there are no halal certifications. As we received so many enquiries on whether a food business is halal or not, we created halalfoodhunt.com, while letting halal foodies know about the myriad of options open to them! It is a website created and self-funded by local Singaporean Muslims for the Singaporean Muslim community.

Friends Card

If you like what we do, get yourself a FRIENDS Card! The FRIENDS Card allows you to get exclusive deals, invites and savings of between 10-20% at over 60 halal food businesses in Singapore, for only $18/year, including halal restaurants, cafes, bakeries including online e-commerce businesses in Singapore. We want to encourage foodies to explore eating at new halal places. So if you like what we do and want to support us, get a FRIENDS Card for yourself!

Learn More


More Articles


336x280 Foodster