What’s Not Halal About Dimsum?

Just what exactly makes Dimsum a no-go for Muslim foodies like you and I?

0 642

Dimsum, otherwise known as ‘to order as one wishes’ when translated from the Chinese characters, are small bite-sized portions of food served in steaming bamboo baskets. Some of these baskets can either be towering or come in short stacks. As we all know, Dimsum has always been pretty popular with foodies of all ethnicities, but despite this popularity, the ubiquitous Dimsum is rarely found to be Halal.

Jumaiyah, a.k.a. Jums, went to Tang Tea House, one of the few eateries in Singapore where Dimsum can be eaten by Muslim patrons. There, Jums learned more about what makes their Dimsum consumable for Muslims and even got her hands dirty by making some Dimsum on her own!

 

We talked to Sylvia Ler, the founder of Tang Tea House.

Sylvia stated that originally, Dimsum uses pork-based ingredients in most, if not all, their dishes. From Lor Mai Kai to Char Siew, it’s no wonder Muslims cannot eat them! At Tang Tea House, they were able to remove these Haram components of Dim Sum and instead experimented until they were able to substitute other ingredients into their dishes.

 

A typical Dimsum dish like Siew Mai would contain pork.

 

At Tang Tea House, they were able to replace it with chicken, chestnut, mushroom and prawns.

 

Another key component of Dimsum which makes it non-Halal would be the fact that lard is added to the dough!

 

This actually comes from the belief that the lard helps to make fried Dimsum even crispier. Here, lard was completely removed from the recipe to ensure all the fried Dimsum remains Halal.

 

Jums made some Dim Sum but ended up adding too much filling. Is it you very hungry, Jums?

 

After making and frying some chicken dumplings of her own, Jums got the ‘OK’ to work there from Sylvia! A bit more practice and she’ll become second chef, or maybe first to taste test?

In conclusion, it is in fact quite a challenge for Muslims to try Dimsum unless it has been Halal-certified in some way. We need to be cautious customers. Just because there are halal dim sum houses in Singapore does not mean that dim sum is automatically halal when we go to other countries.

 

Tang Tea House has a large array of Dimsum for their Muslim patrons to choose from as well as being affordable and delicious.

Halal-status: Halal-Certified

 

Watch the full video interview with Tang Tea House here!

Locations

For most updated address and opening hours, please check on the halalfoodhunt.com directory.

 

Jalan Kayu Branch

242 Jalan Kayu Singapore 799466

Jurong West Branch

Address: 414 Jurong West Street 42 Singapore 640414
Opening Hours: Daily, 12.00pm -11.00pm

Simpang Bedok

Address: 357 Bedok Road Singapore 469545
Opening Hours: Daily, 12.00pm -2.00am

Changi Village

Address: 57 Lor Bekukong Singapore 499173
Opening Hours:
Monday to Thursday: 11.00am -12.00am
Friday to Sunday & Eve of Public Holidays: 11.00am -2.00am

 

FRIENDS Pass Exclusive Deal:

10% off your bill. Valid on Mondays to Fridays. No Valid on set menus and promotional items.

 

Get up to 20% discounts at over 200 halal merchants in Singapore with the FRIENDS Pass for only $18 per year, on the halalfoodhunt app, available on Google Play and App Store.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.